With love! To my Opa.

IMG_20140712_201621~2

In this new village

several unlike faces,

Eyes started rolling

from one to another,

A face so peaceful

found it little odd,

Watching the crowd

saying less than all,

Became my quarry

for rest of evening,

A yen to  glance

for the love of moment,

An effort to reach

gentle touch of your palm,

Thus your silky wrinkled hand

clutched me from distance,

Tried myself to be open

dearth of words,

or say they are overrated,

We made an agreement

so you speak my brogue,

and I soak up your expressions,

My days get better

with glimpse of your smiling face,

You are, will be my only friend

every time I look around,

So don’t turn back

not to leave my hand,

Stay for a while

as are still untold stories,

laying in your self,

a letter on desk waiting to be send.

I long to listen it again,

as you say,’she is my lil girl’

Let melody in your voice

be my companion one more summer.

© ikbenmanisha25

(Dedicated to my grandpa, who is 91 years now)

8 thoughts on “With love! To my Opa.

      1. That sounds like me and my grandfather. I miss him every day. I spent lots of evenings and weekends with him, just the 2 of us. I know you are cherishing every moment! 😀

Leave a Reply

